JCP holds elections, contemplates OpenJDK

Alex Handy
December 23, 2009 —  (Page 2 of 2)
Voting results
The JCP Executive Committee elections proved to be about as popular as America's off-year general elections: only 21% of the membership actually voted.

The results placed Doug Lea in a one-year seat on the executive committee for Java SE/EE. Lea is a professor of computer science at the State University of New York at Oswego. He was the chair of JSR 166 and the author of “Concurrent Programming in Java: Design Principles and Patterns.”

Fujitsu, Hewlett-Packard, IBM and Oracle were also elected to the executive committee. Lea and all four of these companies were re-elected to their existing seats. Nortel was not re-elected.

The open seat elections were more contentious, and concurrency expert Tim Peierls won out over Liferay, Terracotta and Matthew McCullough, a Denver-based software development consultant.

The Java ME executive committee elections saw AT&T, Siemens, SK Telecom, T-Mobile and Vodafone all elected to seats. Ericsson, Motorola and Qisda all lost their seats.

Jacob Feldman, the specification lead on JSR 331: Constraint Programming API, won election to the open seat on the Java ME executive committee.

Related Search Term(s): Java

Pages 1 2 

Share this link:

SD Times Blog: Java 6 exploit found, no patch available
Users should either uninstall Java 6 or upgrade to Java 7, advise experts Read More...

News on Monday  more>>
Android Developer News  more>>
SharePoint Tech Report  more>>
Big Data TechReport  more>>



Download Current Issue

Need Back Issues?

Want to subscribe?