Topic: turing award

Avi Wigderson receives 2023 ACM A.M. Turing Award

ACM has announced that it is awarding the 2023 ACM A.M. Turing Award to Avi Wigderson for his contributions in the area of theoretical computer science, and notably, for changing our understanding of how randomness works in computation.  “Wigderson is a towering intellectual force in theoretical computer science, an exciting discipline that attracts some of … continue reading

Programming language compilers and algorithm innovators awarded ACM A.M. Turing Award

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has announced Alred Vaino Aho and Jeffrey David Ullman as the 2020 ACM A.M. Turing Award winners for their work on fundamental algorithms and theory. The ACM A.M. Turing Award, also known as the Nobel Prize of Computing,” includes a $1 million prize with financial support from Google. According … continue reading

Pixar pioneers receive Turing Award for advancing computer graphic design

ACM has awarded the A.M. Turing Award to animation pioneers Edwin E. Catmull and Patrick M. Hanrahan. Named for computer scientist Alan Turing, the Turing Award is given to those who make “major contributions of lasting importance to computing.” Catmull is former president of Pixar and Disney Animation Studios and Hanrahan is a founding Pixar … continue reading

Cryptography pioneers receive Turing Award

The ACM Turing Award, presented by the Association for Computing Machinery, is often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Computing.” Today, Whitfield Diffie, former chief security officer at Sun Microsystems, and Martin E. Hellman, professor emeritus of electrical engineering at Stanford University, were recipients of the 2015 award for their contributions to modern cryptography. … continue reading

Google kills Wallet API, Go moves to GitHub, and Google’s million-dollar Turing award—SD Times news digest: Nov. 14, 2014

Google has announced it will be retiring the Google Wallet API on March 2, 2015. The API was designed to allow users and merchants to buy and sell digital goods. Payments will continue to be processed through Google Wallet until March 2, 2015 and developers will continue to have access to the merchant center until … continue reading

2012 Turing Award given to two cryptography pioneers

MIT researchers Shafi Goldwasser and Silvio Micali honored for security breakthroughs … continue reading

Alan Turing’s centennial provides a retrospective on his influence

Turing Award winners will gather in June to review his impact on technology … continue reading

AI innovator Judea Pearl wins 2011 Turing Award

Work in how computers handle uncertainty and assess relationships got this UCLA professor the top prize … continue reading

Harvard’s Valiant wins Turing Award

The ACM cited his contributions to computer learning and artificial intelligence … continue reading

Luminaries of the Turing Award’s past

Since the 1960s, many have won the Turing Award, and these six individuals stand out among them … continue reading Protection Status