Topic: acm

Avi Wigderson receives 2023 ACM A.M. Turing Award

ACM has announced that it is awarding the 2023 ACM A.M. Turing Award to Avi Wigderson for his contributions in the area of theoretical computer science, and notably, for changing our understanding of how randomness works in computation.  “Wigderson is a towering intellectual force in theoretical computer science, an exciting discipline that attracts some of … continue reading

Programming language compilers and algorithm innovators awarded ACM A.M. Turing Award

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has announced Alred Vaino Aho and Jeffrey David Ullman as the 2020 ACM A.M. Turing Award winners for their work on fundamental algorithms and theory. The ACM A.M. Turing Award, also known as the Nobel Prize of Computing,” includes a $1 million prize with financial support from Google. According … continue reading

John L. Hennessy and David A. Patterson awarded 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award for RISC approach

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named John L. Hennessy and David A. Patterson the recipients of the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award for inventing the reduced instruction set computer (RISC) approach. Hennessy and Patterson developed a systematic and quantitative approach to designing faster, lower power, and RISC microprocessors. The approach has led to … continue reading

Turing Award 2016 awarded to Sir Tim Berners-Lee, World Wide Web inventor, by ACM

The Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) has announced its 2016 ACM A.M. Turing Award is being awarded to Sir Tim Berners-Lee. Berners-Lee, a professor at MIT and the University of Oxford, is widely known for creating the World Wide Web, first web browser, and the protocols and algorithms that brought the web to scale. Today, … continue reading

Cryptography pioneers receive Turing Award

The ACM Turing Award, presented by the Association for Computing Machinery, is often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Computing.” Today, Whitfield Diffie, former chief security officer at Sun Microsystems, and Martin E. Hellman, professor emeritus of electrical engineering at Stanford University, were recipients of the 2015 award for their contributions to modern cryptography. … continue reading

Making computer science class more like the real world

Software developers are notoriously opinionated, but there’s one thing all corporate coders can agree upon: College doesn’t always prepare newcomers for the real-world experience of writing software on a team. Armando Fox and David Patterson, two computer science professors at the University of California, Berkeley, discovered this unspoken agreement when they interviewed enterprise developers to … continue reading

2014 Turing Award goes to MIT’s Michael Stonebraker

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has announced Michael Stonebraker as the 2014 ACM A.M. Turing Award recipient for his work in modern database systems. Stonebraker is a researcher at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL). “Mike has been a trailblazer in the field of databases by asking the … continue reading

Google kills Wallet API, Go moves to GitHub, and Google’s million-dollar Turing award—SD Times news digest: Nov. 14, 2014

Google has announced it will be retiring the Google Wallet API on March 2, 2015. The API was designed to allow users and merchants to buy and sell digital goods. Payments will continue to be processed through Google Wallet until March 2, 2015 and developers will continue to have access to the merchant center until … continue reading

2012 Turing Award given to two cryptography pioneers

MIT researchers Shafi Goldwasser and Silvio Micali honored for security breakthroughs … continue reading

Zeichick’s Take: Reimagining the taxonomy of computing

A lot has changed since the ACM last released its Computing Classification System … continue reading

Alan Turing’s centennial provides a retrospective on his influence

Turing Award winners will gather in June to review his impact on technology … continue reading

ACM and Infosys Foundation Honor Innovator in Software System Performance, Scalability, and Security

MIT’s Kaashoek to Receive $150,000 Prize for Landmark Research That Led to Innovative Structures for Computer Software System … continue reading Protection Status